Still smelling like a rose ……

“Happiness radiates like the fragrance from a flower, and draws all good things toward you.” -Maharishi Mahesh Yogi

While I am pretty sure that this quote is not referring to my homemade deodorant experiment (day 11), the happiness radiating from my armpits, which literally do smell like a flower, is at least not driving anyone away from me (can I get woot! woot!).

Over the last week and a half, I have been pretty physically active so I can really put my concoction to the test. As I mentioned in an earlier post I have kick-boxed, kettle-belled, and added in some cycling to see how this stuff works.  Despite not being an anti-perspirant per se, I haven’t experienced being more sweaty than usual. A side note is in order here: I am a serious sweater when I work out. Those gals you see whose hair is in place at the end of a workout who look amazing and rejuvenated at the end of a work-out….yeah, I’m the other one. Hair barely contained by the ponytail, all wild and unruly and looking like I need to be rejuvenated, that’s me. So now that we have that established, you can imagine that I have literally given my deodorant a workout.

So now to down to business. I have read lots of recipes online and I applaud, appreciate and thank everyone out there who has shared their versions of homemade deodorant. Many people use coconut oil accompanied by baking soda, cornstarch or arrowroot powder, plus or minus essential oils. Great sites to check for a recipe using coconut oil are: Passionate homemaking and A Sonoma Garden.

Although I enjoy the smell and taste of coconut, my husband is not a big fan, so if I want to draw him towards me with my fragrance,  I need to use another base ingredient.  I have made 2 different versions of deodorant using shea butter accompanied by a variety of other butters. The first version is on the drier side and has a tendency to be more lumpy or crumbly upon application. Of course being my first attempt making the stuff, I didn’t write down the exact ingredients but here are the basics:

1st recipe

1st recipe


3 Tbsp organic Shea butter

1  Tbsp Kokum butter

1 Tbsp Illipe butter

3 Tbsp Pure baking soda (you don’t want any aluminum in it)

2 Tbsp Arrowroot powder or cornstarch

1 1/2 Tbsp beeswax granules

Essential oils (optional): lavender,rosemary, peppermint, lemon, tea tree oil: these are examples of oils with stronger scents for odor control and tea tree oil is also proposed to have anti-bacterial properties. The exact amounts can vary depending on your preference but to overcome the stronger natural scent of shea butter 25-40 drops is recommended.

  1. Melt the beeswax in a double boiler (glass bowl in pot of boiling water) or microwave
  2. Add butters and powders, followed by your essential oils and mix it all together
  3. While mixture still warm pour into your container (as this version is a little drier in consistency, I put it in a glass jar and apply with my fingers)
  4. Let mixture cool and it will firm up

The second recipe results in a softer more spreadable product and I used a traditional deodorant container to pour the mixture in at the end. You can either purchase these containers online or empty out and clean one that you already have.

This recipe is an adaptation of one I found at Our life simplified (great site, check it out)

2nd recipe

2nd recipe


2 Tbsp Shea butter

1 Tbsp Pumpkin butter

1 Tbsp Beeswax granules

2 Tbsp Arrowroot powder or cornstarch

2 Tbsp pure Baking soda

2 Tbsp Sweet almond oil

1/8 tsp (1 capsule) Vitamin E oil

Essential oils (optional): again I forgot to measure how much I used, but I combined lavender, sandalwood, sweet orange, and a smidge of eucalyptus

  1. Melt beeswax as above
  2. Add butters, sweet almond oil and Vitamin E oil (puncture hole in capsule and squeeze oil out)
  3. Add arrowroot powder or cornstarch and baking soda and essential oils and mix all together
  4. While mixture warm pour into your container and then let it cool and firm up

May you all radiate happiness with your ambrosial smelling underarms and draw all good things toward you! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

