Chocolate Almond goodness

IMG_1909
These little nuggets of goodness are made from a recipe adapted from an inspiring and beautiful blog I have come across (thank you Caitlin-roostblog.com)  It was originally made as a dinner biscuit, but I tweeked it make it an after dinner treat. Depending on which of my adaptations you try, you can make it more like a biscuit(less sweet) or more like a true dessert….a girls got to have her chocolate right?

Over the last few months, as I have jumped, I mean seriously, like off the high dive right into the deep end of a pool (and I’m afraid of heights mind you…another wonderful bonus of getting older, but I digress) into the gluten-free realm, I have tried to nudge my family, especially the kids into the “shallow water” of gluten-free eating. So when my son, the pickiest eater of us all gives something a thumbs up, believe me, I am going to shout the recipe out to anyone willing to listen. (just turn down the volume if I’m being too loud).

I have now made this 3 ways, using either butter or coconut oil for variety. Choose whichever one sounds good to you!

Chocolate Almond Goodness: Subtle sweetness for a mini-biscuit

  • 2 1/2 cups almond flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup melted organic coconut oil or butter (Note: coconut oil will impart a somewhat “tropical” flavor and butter will provide a true biscuit flavoring)
  • 1/4 cup brown rice syrup
    3 Tb organic cacao powder

Preheat oven to 350F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silpat (or whatever you’ve got so things don’t stick to pan).

In a large bowl, combine the almond flour, salt, cacao and baking soda. In a medium bowl, whisk together the coconut oil, brown rice syrup and eggs. Stir the wet ingredients into the flour mixture until thoroughly combined. With a spoon or if you are willing to get dirty (which is more fun in my opinion) scoop up some dough in your hands and make small/medium blobs (very technical term) probably equivalent to 2 teaspoons or tablespoon size depending on your blob preference.

Bake for 15 minutes (give or take depending on your oven) so that a toothpick inserted into the center of a biscuit comes out clean. Let cool briefly on the baking sheet. Serve warm. ( I have also frozen the leftovers and they keep well!)

Makes about 25-28

The one below is the sweet treat version and my favorite one so far. Not too sweet, but just enough to satisfy my cravings…and hopefully yours too!

Chocolate Almond Goodness: my version of an “Almond Joy”

  • 2 1/2 cups almond flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 c organic melted organic coconut oil
  • 1/2 c organic light brown sugar
    1/4 c organic cacao powder

The mixing and cooking directions are the same as above but instead of brown rice syrup use the brown sugar and add it to your dry ingredients. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

