Gluten-free waffles

kid tested, kid approved

gluten-free waffles

We were running late in our morning routine for school as usual. I swear I try to be on time, but somehow with kids I am in a time warp where no matter what I do I am always late. At one point in my life, pre-kids that is, I was early and being on time was considered late for me. Now with kids, my timing consists of either being late (truly late), later and you know what….we better call it a day because this isn’t gonna happen. But, despite running behind schedule my son was in the mood for waffles and insisted that I had “time” to make them for him. Of course, how can I resist those big blue eyes pleading with me, so I caved and threw caution to the wind. What’s another tardy at school right? These kids need good nutrition.
So here was my experiment this morning. To my surprise the kids gave it raves reviews! Now, of course I take this with a grain of salt. I am new to this cooking thing, and I think the kids don’t want to discourage me (I really do love them!) so hopefully you will enjoy them too. But don’t worry, I won’t be insulted if they aren’t your thing. But feel free to add comments/suggestions. I can use all the help I can get.

1 cup almond flour
1 cup quinoa flour
3 tablespoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
Mixed these dry ingredients all together in a bowl and set aside

2 eggs
1 1/3 cups milk
4 tablespoons organic pumpkin
1 1/2 tablespoons vanilla ( I like vanilla but you can use less)
organic cinnamon (I forgot to measure)
1 tablespoon brown rice syrup
1 teaspoon light brown sugar (organic fair trade)
Whisk these together, then add to your dry ingredients
Grease waffle iron with either melted butter or coconut oil (for added flavor)
Voila! Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

